Dirk Bartz Prize Program

TUESDAY, MAY 7th 2019, h.16:10       Room: PONENTE

Session Chairs: Steffen Oeltze-Jafra and Stefan Bruckner

The Eurographics Association organizes a biannual competition to acknowledge the contribution that computer graphics is playing in the medical field, and to encourage further development. In 2010 the Eurographics Medical Prize was renamed to the Dirk Bartz Prize for Visual Computing in Medicine to honor Dirk Bartz who passed away far too early in March the same year. Dirk was a highly recognized and enthusiastic scientist, teacher and promoter of Visual Computing in Medicine, an active member of the Eurographics Association, and Chair of the EG Medical Prizes 2007 and 2009.

The winning entries of the 2019 prize are presented below.

First place:

Cytosplore: Interactive Visual Single-Cell Profiling of the Immune System
Thomas Höllt, Nicola Pezzotti, Vincent van Unen, Na Li, Frits Koning, Elmar Eisemann, Boudewijn P. F. Lelieveldt, and Anna Vilanova

Second place:

Model-based Visualization for Medical Education and Training
Noeska Smit, Kai Lawonn, Annelot Kraima, Marco DeRuiter, Stefan Bruckner, Elmar Eisemann, and Anna Vilanova

Third place:

Visual Analytics for Epidemiology
Bernhard Preim, Shiva Alemzadeh, Till Ittermann, Paul Klemm, Uli Niemann, and Myra Spiliopoulou